Sigler Prize for Undergraduates

Paul Sigler, 1934-2000

Founded in 2001, by a friend and colleague, in memory of Paul Sigler, who was a distinguished member of the faculty in the Department of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry. Paul Sigler was one of the world’s leading structural biologists on the mechanisms by which gene expression is controlled, transmembrane signaling is accomplished, and correct folding of proteins is assisted by chaperonins. The Sigler Prize is awarded to a graduating Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry major who has demonstrated excellence in scholarship and research.

The recipients are:

2020 Anna-Sophia Boguraev and Kimberly Wei
2019 Benjamin Koleske
2018 James Diao and Charlotte Herber
2017 Paul Chung & Laura Goetz
2016 Charlie Kinzig
2015 Maria Christina Passarelli
2014 Connie Zhao
2013 Max Valenstein and Jonathan Liang
2012 Durga Thakral
2011 Eugene Serebryany and Julia Rogers
2010 Susan Scanlon
2009 Valerie Gordon
2008 Bennett Harrison Lane and Aaron Michael Ring
2007 David Weinberg and Rebecca Voorhees
2006 Eleanor Marshall
2005 Sara Koenig
2004 Srinivas Viswanathan
2003 Ruey Ho and Michael Gong
2002 Stanley Lo
2001 Yoomi Lee