National Academy of Medicine Elects New Member, Susan Baserga

October 11, 2023
Yale’s Susan Baserga was recently elected into The National Academy of Medicine. The academy chose 90 regular members and 10 international members, election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service. 
Susan J. Baserga, MD, PhD, is William H. Fleming, MD, Professor of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry and professor of genetics and of therapeutic radiology, and a member of Yale Cancer Center. Her laboratory has pioneered the molecular basis of how ribosomes are made in our cells and is now pursuing the mechanistic basis of inherited human diseases called ribosomopathies. Her studies probe the link between ribosome biogenesis and cancer. She has previously won the Charles W. Bohmfalk Prize for basic science teaching at the Yale School of Medicine (2014), the William C. Rose Award from the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) for outstanding contributions to scientific research and a demonstrated commitment to the training of young scientists (2016), and the Connecticut Technology Council Women of Innovation Category Winner in Research Innovation and Leadership (2018), and was elected to the National Academy of Inventors (2018). She was elected an ASBMB fellow in 2023. Baserga is a summa cum laude graduate of Yale College who subsequently earned her MD (cum laude), and PhD (in human genetics) at Yale. After a post-doctoral fellowship in the lab of Joan A. Steitz, PhD, Baserga joined the Yale faculty as an assistant professor in 1993.
“Their contributions to health and medicine are unparalleled, and their leadership and expertise will be essential to helping the NAM tackle today’s urgent health challenges, inform the future of health care, and ensure health equity for the benefit of all around the globe.” says National Academy of Medicine, President Victor J. Dzau.